Press Release
Athens, 4 November 2013

NCSR “Demokritos” research team receives Marie Curie Award
A new method for the diagnosis and therapy of cancer with the aid of radionuclides


The prestigious Marie Curie Award was granted to Dr. Theodosia Maina-Nock & Dr. Berthold A. Nock and their team, researchers of Molecular Radiopharmacy at the Institute of Nuclear & Radiological Sciences & Technology, Energy & Safety (INRASTES) of the National Center for Scientific Research “Demokritos” in the recent Annual Congress of the European Association of Nuclear Medicine (ΕΑΝΜ) in Lyon, France (19–23 October, 2013).

The award was granted to the team for their innovative research in the area of peptide radiopharmaceuticals –“radiopeptides”- applied in the diagnosis, staging and therapy of cancer with the aid of radionuclides.

Specifically, the researchers have shown that co-injection of a suitable enzyme-inhibitor and the peptide radiopharmaceutical stabilizes the radiopeptide in the blood stream, leading to an impressive increase of uptake in tumor lesions. The efficacy of this new approach at the preclinical level has been documented in a plethora of radiopeptides with potential application in a wide range of human cancers. This methodology is expected to significantly improve diagnostic sensitivity and therapeutic efficacy of peptide radiopharmaceuticals

In addition to the aforementioned researchers, the following PhD candidates participate in the research team: Aikaterini Kaloudi (Biologist, MSci Imperial College, London, UK), Panteleimon Marsouvanidis (Chemist, ΜSci Patras University) and Emmanouil Lymperis (Chemist, ΜSci Aristotelian University of Thessaloniki). This research effort would never have reached to such a favorable outcome without the significant contribution and generous support of Prof. Marion de Jong and Prof. Eric P. Krenning (Nuclear Medicine Department, Erasmus MC, Rotterdam, Netherlands).

Marie Curie Award is granted by the EANM annually to the best scientific presentation at the EANM Annual Congress. This year it was selected out of 2500 contributions.

Relative Links:
Molecular Radiopharmacy, INRASTES, NCSR “Demokritos”

Marie Curie Award
2013 EANM awards
Kaloudi A, Nock BA, Lymperis E, Marsouvanidis PJ, Krenning EP, de Jong M, Maina T., A new route toward enhancing the uptake of [111In/177Lu-DOTA,Leu15]MG11 in CCK2R-positive xenografts in mice. EANM Annual Congress 2013, 19 – 23 October, 2013; Lyon, France, Eur. J. Nucl. Med. Mol. Imaging 40 (Suppl. 2): S120, OP098; 2013.
A related full paper is now published on line by DOI, available via PubMed

Dr. Theodosia Maina-Nock receiving the Marie Curie Award from the EANM President, Prof. Fred Verzijlbergen, and the Congress President 2013, Prof. Le Guludec, during the closing ceremony of EANM ’13 Congress in Lyon (October, 2013)

For the N.C.S.R. "Demokritos"

The National Center for Scientific Research (NCSR) "Demokritos" is the largest multidisciplinary research center in the country with substantial scientific research, technological and educational activities in the areas of: Health, Biology and Biotechnology, New Materials Micro & Nanotechnology, Environment - Energy and Sustainable Development, Information Technology & Telecommunications, Nuclear Physics & Elementary Particle Physics, Nuclear Technology & Radiation Protection, Cultural Heritage.


For more information please contact:

N.C.S.R. "Demokritos"
Public Relations & Press Office
Τel. +30-210-650-3002, 3040
Fax: 210-650-3260