Public Relations & Press Office
Press Release
Athens, 28 July 2011

Workshop on
«International Cooperation of NCSR «Demokritos» with Educational and Research Institutions»

held at NCSR «Demokritos»
Wednesday, July 27, 2011


The National Center for Scientific Research “Demokritos” organized on Wednesday, July 27 2011, a workshop on its international cooperation with Educational and Research institutions (

The workshop was held in the context of the 50 years anniversary celebration of NCSR and aimed at presenting the current activities and the potential for cooperation with foreign educational and research institutions, with which NCSR has signed cooperation agreements.

The workshop involved representatives of the US Universities University of North Texas, George Mason University, University of Texas at Arlington, and the University of Loughborough, UK, which presented the corresponding institutions and the potential of their cooperation with NCSR.

Presentations were also given by representatives of NCSR Institutes focusing on topics of common interest. The workshop concluded with a panel discussion on “Cooperation with foreign Institutions: current expertise and future potential”.

At the end of the Workshop, NCSR and George Mason University signed a cooperation agreement concerning the promotion of joint educational and research activities.

The Workshop was held at the central amphitheater of NCSR and was open to the public.


the NCSR Demokritos

The National Center for Scientific Research (NCSR) "Demokritos" is the largest multidisciplinary research center in the country with substantial scientific research, technological and educational activities in the areas of: Health, Biology and Biotechnology, New Materials Micro & Nanotechnology, Environment - Energy and Sustainable Development, Information Technology & Telecommunications, Nuclear Physics & Elementary Particle Physics, Nuclear Technology & Radiation Protection, Cultural Heritage. All the activities are coordinated by the eight Institutes of the Center: 1) Biology, 2) Materials Science, 3) Microelectronics,4) Computer and Telecommunications, 5) Nuclear Engineering and Radiological, 6) Nuclear Physics, 7) Chemistry, 8) Radioisotopes and Radiopharmaceuticals

For more information pls contact:

Floratou Zoe
Public Relations & Press Office
Τel. +30 210- 650 3002, email: